Skip to main content


Úsáidimid fianáin ionas go bhfaighidh tú an taithí is fearr ar ár láithreán agus comhlíonaimid ár gceanglais Cosanta Sonraí ag an am céanna. Lean ort gan do chuid socruithe a athrú, agus gheobhaidh tú fianáin, nó athraigh do chuid socruithe fianáin ag aon tráth.

Níl an leagan Gaeilge ar fáil go fóill, más maith leat an leagan Béarla a léamh féach thíos.

Statement from the Minister for Health and the Minister for Foreign Affairs

Under current policy, the Government advises against all non-essential international travel. All passengers arriving in Ireland must complete a COVID-19 Passenger Locator Form and provide evidence that they have a negative or ‘not detected’ result from a COVID-19 PCR test carried out no more than 72 hours before arrival into Ireland or have evidence that they are exempt from this legal requirement.

People who are travelling from or via a state/territory designated under the recently enacted public health legislation must also pre-book and pre-pay for a place in a designated facility for mandatory hotel quarantine.

All other travellers, who arrive in Ireland from non-designated states/territories, are required to quarantine at home for 14 days; however, if they take a further PCR test on day 5 post arrival in Ireland and if this is reported as ‘not detected’ they can end their period of quarantine.

Minister Donnelly has today considered advice from the Acting CMO to add further states/territories to the “designated States/Territories” list. This evening the Minister is adding a further number of states/territories following consultation with the Minister for Foreign Affairs. The list of additional States/Territories is set out below. Travellers from these states/territories will have to book accommodation for mandatory hotel quarantine if they intend to arrive in Ireland after 4 am on Tuesday, 6 April.

Advice from the Acting CMO also includes advice with regard to a number of other states/territories. Decisions in relation to these additional states/territories will be considered in advance of the next Government meeting. Ongoing considerations will also address various issues including the operational capacity that may be required to accommodate additional travellers and issues related to the Common Travel Area and the need to consult with our EU partners. Further consideration will also be given to ways in which measures pertaining to those travelling from non-designated states/territories might be further strengthened.

The Ministers underlined the Government’s commitment to protect public health as a matter of urgency, including in relation to variants of concern, and having regard to our international obligations.



1 APRIL 2021

Notes to Editors

LIST of Additional States/Territories:

States/Territories to be added:

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Aruba
  4. Bahrain
  5. Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  6. Ethiopia
  7. Israel
  8. Jordan
  9. Kosovo
  10. Kuwait
  11. Lebanon
  12. Moldova
  13. Monaco
  14. Montenegro
  15. Nigeria
  16. North Macedonia
  17. Oman
  18. Palestine
  19. The Philippines
  20. Puerto Rico
  21. Qatar
  22. Saint Lucia
  23. San Marino
  24. Serbia
  25. Somalia
  26. The Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands

States/Territories to be removed

1.  the Republic of Mauritius

A full list of designated States/Territories is available here.