Skip to main content

Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

Embassy of Ireland to Austria

Practical information on who we are and how to find us

Embassy Team

Ambassador Tom Hanney
Deputy Head of Mission Seán Ó Riain
Second Secretary Kate Oliver

Contact details and directions to the Embassy

Embassy of Ireland
Rotenturmstraße 16-18
A-1010 Vienna

Tel: +43 (0)1 715 4246
Fax: +43 (0)1 713 6004

Public Office: Monday to Friday 09.30-12.30 

Telephone Hours: Monday to Friday 09.00-13.00 & 14.00-17.00

The Embassy is located at 16-18 Rotenturmstraße, approximately half-way between Stephansplatz and Schwedenplatz. The nearest U-Bahn (Metro) stops are Stephansplatz (U1 and U3 lines) and Schwedenplatz (U1 and U4 lines). Both stops are within a five-minute walk to the Embassy.

Please note that due to ongoing road works the Rotenturmstrasse will be closed for vehicular traffic from Monday 1st April. Diversions are in place and are being communicated through local press. Pedestrian access will be maintained and it is advised to use public transport wherever possible.

Embassy Closure Dates 2019

Good Friday 19/04/2019
Easter Monday 22/04/2019
May Day 01/05/2019
Ascension Day 30/05/2019
Whit Monday 10/06/2019
Corpus Christi 20/06/2019
Assumption of the Virgin Mary 15/08/2019
National Day 26/10/2019
All Saints' Day 01/11/2019
Christmas Day 25/12/2019
St Stephen's Day 26/12/2019

Emergency contact details

If you are an Irish citizen and require urgent assistance while the Embassy is closed, please dial:  +43 (0)1 715 4246. A recorded message will provide the telephone number of the Duty Officer in Vienna, which can be called in case of a genuine consular emergency that cannot wait until office hours.