DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/beijing. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that the Embassy of Ireland, China website has moved and this page is no longer being updated. The Embassy website is now available at Ireland.ie/beijing.

The Embassy’s History

Ireland and China established diplomatic relations on 22 June 1979, and Ireland opened an Embassy in Beijing shortly thereafter. Ireland’s first Ambassador in China, John Campbell, presented his credentials on 17 May 1980.

The Embassy moved to its current premises in 1980. The Embassy is located in the Jianguomen diplomatic district, one of three diplomatic districts in Beijing. It is near the well-known Ritan Park, also known as the Temple of the Sun park, where in imperial times the Emperor would visit each year to pay homage to the sun.

Irish Ambassadors to China:

John Campbell May 1980 - September 1983
Dermot Waldron October 1983 - February 1987
Gearoid O Broin February 1987 - October 1991
Thelma Doran November 1991 - November 1995
Joe Hayes November 1995 - August 1999
Declan Connolly September 1999 - July 2004
Declan Kelleher July 2004 - August 2013
Paul Kavanagh September 2013 to August 2017
Eoin O'Leary

September 2017 - August 2020

Ann Derwin

January 2021 - Present