Skip to main content

Ireland-Estonia Relations

The Embassy plays an important role in the strong partnership between the Estonian and Irish Governments supporting reconciliation, recovery and prosperity for both countries.

Ireland (Éire) recognised the Republic of Estonia on 27 August 1991 and diplomatic relations were established on 10 September 1991. Ireland has never recognized Estonia's annexation neither de iure or de facto.

On 3 December 1991 Paul D. Dempsey, residing in Stockholm, was accredited as Ireland's first ambassador to Estonia. He was succeeded by Dáithí O'Ceallaigh (1995-1998) and Gearóid Ó Broin (1999–2001), both residing in Helsinki. The first ambassador to reside in Tallinn was Sean Farrell (2001-2004). After that, Noel Kilkenny (2004-2008), Thomas Bolster (2008-2010), Peter McIvor (2010-2014) and Frank Flood (2014-2018) have also resided in Estonia.

The current Ambassador of Estonia in Ireland is H.E. Mrs Aino Lepik von Wirén who presented her credentials to President Higgins on the 4th September 2018.

Visits of State Officials

To Estonia     

  • October 2018 Minister for Trade, Business & Employment Pat Breen at Tallinn Digital Summit.
  • September 2018 Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó Fearghaíl / Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs & Trade Simon Coveney.
  • October 2017 Senator for the Industrial and Commercial Gerry Horkan / Minister of State for Public Procurement, Open Government and eGovernment Patrick O'Donovan.
  • September 2017 Taoiseach Leo Varadkar / Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform Paschal Donohoe / Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs & Trade Simon Coveney / Minister of State at the Departments of An Taoiseach and Defence Paul Kehoe / Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine Michael Creed.
  • July 2017 Minister of State for Training, Skills, Innovation, Research and Development John Halligan / Minister of State at the Department of Justice and Equality David Stanton.
  • June 2017 Secretary General Niall Burgess.
  • May 2017 Minister of State for European Affairs Dara Murphy / Minister for Trade, Business & Employment Pat Breen.
  • March 2017 Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine Michael Creed.
  • June 2015: Minister for Development, Trade Promotion and North South Co-operation Seán Sherlock.
  • April 2014: Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources Fergus O'Dowd at FOC Conference.
  • November 2013: Oireachtas Joint EU Affairs Committee.
  • October 2012: Minister for European Affairs Lucinda Creighton.
  • September 2012: Minister for Agriculture Simon Coveney.
  • May 2012: Irish Central Bank Governor Patrick Honohan.
  • March 2005: Minister for Social Affairs Seamus Brennan.
  • May 2004: Prime Minister Bertie Ahern.
  • December 2003: Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment Mary Harney.
  • October 2003: Minister for Defence Michael Smith / Minister for Labour Affairs Frank Fahey.
  • July 2003: Minister for European Affairs Dick Roche.
  • June 2003: Prime Minister Bertie Ahern / Minister for Communications, Marine and Natural Resources Dermot Ahern.
  • May 2001: President Mary McAleese on state visit, accompanied by Minister of Culture Sile de Valera and Deputy Secretary of State Peter Ryan.

To Ireland

  • January 2018  Prime Minister Jüri Ratas
  • March 2017 Speaker of the Parliament Eiki Nestor     
  • April 2013: Minister of Agriculture Helir-Valdor Seeder / Minister of Finance Jürgen Ligi.
  • March 2013: Minister of Social Affairs Taavi Rõivas / Minister of Foreign Affairs Urmas Paet.
  • February 2013: Minister of Defence Urmas Reinsalu.
  • January 2013: Minister of the Interior Ken-Marti Vaher.
  • December 2012: Foreign Minister Urmas Paet at OSCE Ministerial.
  • June 2012: President Toomas Hendrik Ilves at the OSCE internet freedom conference in Dublin.
  • April 2012: President Toomas Hendrik Ilves on a working visit.
  • November 2011: Minister of Agriculture Helir-Valdor Seeder.
  • April 2008: President Toomas Hendrik Ilves on a state visit.
  • October 2006: Foreign Minister Urmas Paet.
  • May 2006: Minister of Economic Affairs and Communications Edgar Savisaar / Minister of Education and Research Mailis Reps.
  • October 2005: Population Minister Paul-Erik Rummo.
  • May 2004: Prime Minister Juhan Parts.
  • February 2003: Prime Minister Siim Kallas.
  • August 2002: Minister of Social Affairs Siiri Oviir at the Forum of the European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions in Dublin.
  • March 2001: Minister of Education Tõnis Lukas.
  • March 2000: Foreign Minister Toomas Hendrik Ilves.


  • Agreement on Visa Free Travel (came into force 1 May 1996);
  • Agreement for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and for the Prevention of Tax Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income and Capital (came into force 29 December 1998);
  • Agreement on the exchange of cultural experts (signed 16 Apr 1999).