Skip to main content

Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

The Embassy’s History

The Ambassador's Residence

The Embassy of Ireland in Helsinki was first opened in 1993. However, Ireland's diplomatic relations with Finland were established in November 1961. Before 1993, Finland was covered on a non-residential basis by the Embassies of Ireland in Moscow and Stockholm.

Finland opened a resident Embassy in Dublin in 1989 headed by Ambassador Mr Osmo Lares. Previously the Finnish Ambassadors to Belgium and the Netherlands have been accredited diplomatic representatives to Ireland.

Ambassadors of Ireland to Finland
Dáithí O'Ceallaigh 1993 - 1998
Gearoid O'Broin 1998 - 2002
Antoín Mac Unfraidh 2003 - 2007
Philip McDonagh 2007 - 2009
Dermot Brangan 2009 - 2013
Dónal Denham 2013 - 2017
Maeve Collins 2017 - 2019
Ruth Parkin  2020 -