Skip to main content

Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

The Embassy’s History

The Embassy’s history, including the establishment of diplomatic relations and some of our former Ambassadors.

Diplomatic relations between Ireland and Greece

Mr. Sean Ronan presented his credentials as Ireland’s first Ambassador to the President of the Hellenic Republic, Mr. Konstantinos Tsatsos, in June 1977. Ms. Orla O'Hanrahan was the 11th Irish Ambassador to serve in Athens, until November 2019. A new Ambassador will be appointed in early 2020. 

Previous Irish Ambassadors to Greece

Ambassador Orla O'Hanrahan 2017-2019
Ambassador Noel Kilkenny 2014-2016
Ambassador Charles Sheehan 2010-2014
Ambassador Antoin Mac Unfraidh 2007-2010
Ambassador Margaret Hennessy 2002-2007
Ambassador Padraic Cradock 1997-2002
Ambassador Liam Rigney 1993-1997
Ambassador Bernard McHugh 1990-1993
Ambassador Eamon Ryan 1987-1990
Ambassador Charles Whelan 1984-1987
Ambassador Sean Ronan 1977-1984