Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

Skip to main content

The Embassy’s History

Ireland and India recognised each other in 1947, upon Indian independence. India opened an embassy in Ireland in 1951, and Ireland opened an Embassy in India in 1964.

The Embassy opened in 1964. The Embassy celebrated its fiftieth anniversary in 2014.

The Embassy is currently located in C17 Malcha Marg. Previously, it was located in Jor Bagh.

The Embassy has grown significantly since its foundation. There are now four diplomatic officers and a visa office within the Embassy. The Embassy also has Honorary Consulates in Bangalore, Chennai, Kolkata and Mumbai.

The Embassy is also accredited to Nepal, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

There have been thirteen Ambassadors since 1964.

William Warnock 1964-1967
Valentin Iremonger 1968-1972
Denis A. Holmes 1972-1976
Francis A. Coffey 1977-1980
Bernard McHugh 1981-1985
Paul D. Dempsey 1986-1990
Margaret Hennessy 1991-1994
James Flavin 1995-1998
Philip McDonagh 1999-2003
Kieran Dowling 2004-2008
Kenneth Thompson 2009-2012
Feilim McLaughlin 2012- 
Brian McElduff 2016 - present