DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/mexicocity. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that the Embassy of Ireland, Mexico website has moved and this page is no longer being updated. The Embassy website is now available at Ireland.ie/mexicocity.

The Embassy’s History

Find out more about the history of Ireland's presence in Mexico.

Diplomatic relations between Ireland and Mexico were established on the 10th of January 1974.

As Ireland did not have an Embassy in Mexico in the subsequent period, the Embassy of Ireland in the United States played the lead role in growing the relationship, with Mexico as a concurrent country of accreditation.

The Embassy in Washington was ably assisted by Rómulo O’Farril, the Irish Honorary Consul of Ireland in Mexico from 1967 until the opening of an Irish Embassy resident in Mexico.

The Irish Ambassadors accredited to Mexico from Washington were:

  • Jack Molloy 1977-1978
  • Seán Donlon 1978-1981
  • Tadhg O'Sullivan 1981-1985
  • Patrick McKernan 1985-1991
  • Dermot Gallagher 1991-1997
  • Séan Ó Huiginn 1997-1999

Diplomatic relations between Ireland and Mexico continued to intensify and Ireland decided to open a resident Embassy in view of the expanding bilateral relationship and the growing need for a permanent presence in Mexico. Ireland and Mexico have always had a close historical relationship and it was recognized that Mexico was rapidly becoming a global economic force. We also shared many positions on international issues so it was important to deepen our bilateral contact. The then President of Ireland Mary McAleese visited Mexico in 1999 ahead of the opening of the new Irish Embassy in Mexico City.

Since that time 6 Irish Ambassadors have been accredited to Mexico:

  • Art Agnew 1999-2005
  • Dermot Brangan 2005-2009
  • Eamon Hickey 2009-2013
  • Sonja Hyland 2013 - 2017
  • Barbara Jones 2017-2020
  • Maeve von Heynitz 2021-Present

The bilateral relationship continues to grow ever stronger, both culturally and commercially. The current President of Ireland, Mr. Michael D. Higgins, made an official visit to Mexico in October 2013. In 2015, Ireland and Mexico celebrated 40 years of diplomatic relations.