Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

The Embassy of Ireland in South Africa

The Embassy of Ireland in South Africa represents Ireland's interests in South Africa. The Embassy is also accredited to Zimbabwe, Mauritius, Lesotho and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

  • Overview
  • Closure Dates



The Embassy provides a range of consular and other services, details of which are available in the relevant sections of this website.

The Embassy’s public office is open from 09:00 to 12:00 Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).

Telephone enquiries can be made between 14:00-16:00 Monday to Thursday only.

Physical Address

Embassy of Ireland
2nd floor, Parkdev Building
Brooklyn Bridge Office Park
570 Fehrsen Street
Brooklyn 0181

Main Tel: +27 12 452 1000
Fax: +27 12 342 4752
Contact Us via email

Postal Address

Embassy of Ireland
P.O. Box 4174
Pretoria 0001
South Africa

The Embassy also has a small liaison office in Cape Town [generally open 09:00-12:00 weekdays, excluding public holidays, but please phone in advance to confirm]

Embassy of Ireland Liaison Office
19th Floor, LG Building
1 Thibault Square
Cape Town
Tel: 021 419 0636/ 021 4190637
Fax: 021 419 0639



H.E. Liam MacGabhann

Deputy Head of Mission - First Secretary

Ms Paula Molloy

Second Secretary:

Ms Aoife Lyons

Second Secretary:

Mr Paul Evans

Head of Development - Development Specialist

Ms Paula Nolan 

Commercial Counsellor:

Mr Fred Klinkenberg

Closure Dates

Closure Dates

The Embassy will be closed on the following dates during 2017:

The Cape Town office will be closed on Thursday 14th December and the 18th December through to the 5th January. The Embassy apologies for any inconvenience caused.

2 January (in lieu of Sunday 1 January) New Year's Day
16 March (in lieu of Friday 17 March) St. Patrick's Day
21 March Human Rights Day
14 April Good Friday
17 April Easter Monday
27 April Freedom Day
1 May Worker's Day
16 June Youth Day
9 August National Women's Day
25 September (in lieu of Sunday 24 September) Heritage Day
25 December Christmas Day
26 December Day of Goodwill