DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/daressalaam. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that the Embassy of Ireland, Tanzania website has moved and this page is no longer being updated. The Embassy website is now available at Ireland.ie/daressalaam.

The Embassy’s History

Ireland has maintained official relations with Tanzania for almost fifty years.‌ The history of official representation of Ireland in Tanzania extends back to 1968, when S.C. Robertson was appointed as Honorary Consul.

Flag raising ceremony of First Honorary Consul,  Embassy of Ireland Tanzania

The Government of Ireland commenced a programme of development assistance in Tanzania in 1975, and opened a Development Cooperation Office in Dar Es Salaam in 1979 under the leadership of the Chargé d'Affaires, Brendan Scannell.

Ireland continued to be represented at Chargé d'Affaires level until 2006 when, to coincide with the state visit to Tanzania of President Mary McAleese, John McCullagh was appointed as the first Ambassador to Tanzania.

The Ambassador to Tanzania is also accredited to Burundi, Seychelles, Comoros, DRC and the East African Community.