Skip to main content

Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

The Embassy

Who we are and where to find us in Washington D.C.

The Embassy Team

Ambassador: Daniel Mulhall.

Deputy Head of Mission: Mr. Michael Lonergan.

Agriculture Counsellor: Mr. Dale Crammond.

Economic Counsellor: Mr. Ragnar Almqvist.

Political Counsellor-EU & International Affairs: Ms. Hilary Reilly.

Political Counsellor-Immigration: Mr. Brian Cahalane.

Justice and Home Affairs Counsellor: Mr. Joe Gavin.

Press & Information Counsellor: Ms. Siobhan Miley.

First Secretary: Mr. Shane Cahill.

Cultural Affairs Counsellor: Ms. Lillian Farrell.

Consular & Administration Affairs Counsellor: Ms. Yvonne Gilbride.

Directions to the Embassy of Ireland

Embassy of Ireland,

2234 Massachusetts Ave NW,

Washington DC 20008

The Embassy of Ireland USA is located on Massachusetts Avenue NW at Sheridan Circle, approx. 5 mins walk from Dupont Circle. Closest Metro Station is Dupont Circle (Red Line).

Opening Hours

Open to the public on Monday-Tuesday 09:00  –  13:00

and 14:00 – 16:00

Thursday – Friday 09:00 – 13:00 and 14:00 – 16:00

Please note that the Visa and Passport Office is closed on Wednesdays

The Embassy of Ireland to the United States of America will be closed on the following dates in 2019:

New Year's Day US & Ireland Tuesday, January 1
Martin Luther King US Monday January 21
Presidents Day US Monday February 18
St Patricks Day ** Ireland Monday March 18
Good Friday Ireland Friday, April 19
Easter Monday Ireland Monday, April 22
Memorial Day

US.

In lieu of May bank Holiday

Monday, May 27
Independence Day

US

In lieu of June bank Holiday

Thursday, July 4
Labor Day

US

in lieu of August bank holiday

Monday, September 2
Columbus Day

US 

in lieu of October bank holiday

Monday, October 14
Thanksgiving Day US Thursday, November 28
Thanksgiving Friday US Friday, November 29
Christmas Day US & Ireland Wednesday, December 25,
St. Stephen's Day Ireland Thursday , December 26

Find out how to contact the Embassy in case of emergency

If you are in need of emergency assistance, please contact the Embassy at + 1-202-462-3939 and leave a message on the answering machine. The answering machine is monitored regularly and the Duty Officer will contact you as soon as possible.

Alternatively, you may contact the Duty Officer at the Department of Foreign Affairs in Dublin at + 353-1-408 2000.