Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

Skip to main content

The Embassy

Who we are and where to find us in Washington D.C.

The Embassy Team

 

Ambassador: Daniel Mulhall

Deputy Head of Mission: Mr. Michael Lonergan

Agriculture Counsellor: Mr. Dale Crammond

Economic Counsellor: Mr. Ragnar Almqvist

Political Counsellor-EU & International Affairs: Ms. Hilary Reilly

Political Counsellor-Immigration: Mr. Brian Cahalane

Justice and Home Affairs Counsellor: Mr. Joe Gavin

Press & Information Counsellor: Ms. Siobhan Miley

Consular & Cultural Affairs Counsellor: Ms. Lillian Farrell

Administrative Affairs Counsellor: Ms. Yvonne Gilbride

Directions to the Embassy of Ireland

Embassy of Ireland,

2234 Massachusetts Ave NW,

Washington DC 20008

The Embassy of Ireland USA is located on Massachusetts Avenue NW at Sheridan Circle, approx. 5 mins walk from Dupont Circle. Closest Metro Station is Dupont Circle (Red Line).

Opening hours : Monday to Friday from 09.00 to 13.00 and 14.00 to 16.00.

The Embassy of Ireland to the United States of America will be closed on the following dates in 2017:

New Year's Day Monday 2 January
Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. Monday 16 January
Inauguration Day Friday 20 January
St. Patrick's Day Friday 17 March
Good Friday Friday 14 April
Easter Monday Monday 17 April
Memorial Day Monday 29 May
Independence Day Tuesday 4 July
Labor Day Monday 4 September
Columbus Day Monday 9 October
Thanksgiving Thursday 23 and Friday 24 November
Christmas Day Monday 25 December
St. Stephen's Day Tuesday 26 December

2018 Closure Dates:

New Year’s Day

US & Ireland

Monday, January 1

Martin Luther King

US

Monday January 15

St Patricks Day

Ireland

Monday March 19

Good Friday

Ireland

Friday, March 30

Easter Monday

Ireland

Monday, April 2

Memorial Day

US.

In lieu of May bank Holiday

Monday, May 28

Independence Day

US

In lieu of June bank Holiday

Wednesday, July 4

Labor Day

US

in lieu of August bank holiday

Monday, September 3

Columbus Day

US

in lieu of October bank holiday

Monday, October 8

Thanksgiving Day

US

Thursday, November 22

Thanksgiving Friday

US

Friday, November 23

Christmas Day

US & Ireland

Tuesday, December 25,

St. Stephen’s Day

Ireland

Wednesday, December 26

Find out how to contact the Embassy in case of emergency

If you are in need of emergency assistance, please contact the Embassy at + 1-202-462-3939 and leave a message on the answering machine. The answering machine is monitored regularly and the Duty Officer will contact you as soon as possible.

Alternatively, you may contact the Duty Officer at the Department of Foreign Affairs in Dublin at + 353-1-408 2000.