Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

The Embassy’s History

Embassy History

Diplomatic relations between Ireland and Bulgaria were established in July 1990. The first resident Irish Mission to Bulgaria was headed by Austin Gormly and was established in September 2003 to assist with the Irish Presidency of the European Union in the first half of 2004. The Mission was loacted at 55 Al. Stamboliyski Blvd.

At the end of the 2004 Presidency, responsibility for relations with Bulgaria reverted to the Embassy in Athens, with a small office being maintained in Sofia.

The Embassy of Ireland was opened on a permanent basis in Sofia in 2005, and in October 2005 it moved to its current premises at 26-30 Bacho Kiro Street.

From 2007, the Embassy in Sofia has been responsible also for relations with Georgia and Armenia, with the Ambassador being accredited to these two countries on a non-resident basis.

Irish resident Ambassadors to Bulgaria

Geoffrey Keating 2005-2010 (accredited to Armenia and Georgia from 2007)

John Rowan 2010-2013 (also accredited to Armenia and Georgia)

John Biggar 2013-to 2015 (also accredited to Armenia and Georgia)

Michael Forbes 2016-to date