Skip to main content

Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

The Embassy’s History

Find out about the Embassy's history, including where we are currently located at 51 Jägerstraße and some of our former Ambassadors.

The first Irish Diplomatic Mission in Germany was established in Berlin in 1929 and was situated in the vicinity of the Tiergarten at No.3 Drakestraße. The building which housed the delegation was destroyed in an air-raid on 22 November 1943. The Embassy in Bonn opened in 1951 and then moved to Berlin in 2000.

History of 51 Jägerstraße

The Irish Embassy has been situated at 51 Jägerstraße since 2009 when it moved from its previous location on Friedrichstraße near the old Checkpoint Charlie. No 51 was built in 1789 and formerly belonged to the Mendelssohn family serving as their home and business premises.

Irish Ambassadors and Heads of Mission to Germany

Name From To
Daniel A. Binchy 1929 1932
Leo T. McCauley 1932 1933
Charles Bewley 1933 1939
William Warnock 1939 1944
Cornelius Cremin 1944 1945
John A. Belton 1951 1955
Dr. Thomas Joseph ("Tommy", "T.J.") Kiernan 1955 1956
William Warnock 1956 1962
Brian Gallagher 1962 1964
Eamonn Kennedy 1964 1970
Paul Keating 1970 1972
Seán Ronan 1972 1973
Robert McDonagh 1973 1976
Christopher P (Robin) Fogarty 1976 1983
John Campbell 1983 1986
Kester Heaslip 1986 1991
Pádraig Murphy 1991 1998
Noel Fahey 1998 2002
Seán Ó hUiginn 2002 2006
David Donoghue 2006 2009
Dan Mulhall 2009 2013
Michael Collins 2013 2019
Dr. Nicholas O'Brien 2019 to date

Documents on Irish Foreign Policy project

Learn more about the history of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and our collaboration with the Royal Irish Academy's Documents on Irish Foreign Policy project