Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

The Embassy

Practical information on who we are and how to find us.

  • Embassy Team
  • Directions
  • Embassy Closure Dates

Embassy Team

  • Ambassador: Mr. Michael Collins.
  • Gesandte/Deputy Head of Mission: Ms. Maeve von Heynitz.
  • First Secretary (Head of Political, Public Diplomacy and Press): Thomas Bellew.
  • ​First Secretary (Head of Trade, Investment and EU Economic Policy Unit): Ms. Aoife McGarry.
  • ​First Secretary (Head of EU and Foreign Policy Unit): Ms. Orla Tighe-McMahon.
  • First Secretary (Head of Finance and Economic Policy Unit): Mr. Patrick Jacques.
  • Second Secretary (Consul, Head of Irish Abroad Unit and Administration): Ms. Angela Kennedy.
  • Cultural & Public Outreach Officer: Ms. Jana Gronau.
  • Political Officer: Ms. Rebecca Stock.
  • Economic & Political Officer: Ms. Ines Rerbal.
  • Political & Press Officer: Mr. Daniel Farrell.
  • Administration Officer: Ms. Carmel Finnan.
  • Consular Officer: Mr. John O'Driscoll.
  • Irish Community Officer: Ms. Melanie Neumann.



Directions to the Embassy

Jägerstraße 51, 10117 Berlin.

The Embassy is located just off Berlin’s Gendarmenmarkt at Jägerstraße 51 and can be easily reached by public transport. The U-Bahnhof (metro) station “Hausvogteiplatz” (U2 line) is just a few minutes’ walk from Embassy.

How to reach the Embassy from:

- Berlin U-Bahn (Metro) network: Take U2 line to Hausvogteiplatz Station. Follow the signs for the “Taubenstraße” exit and walk ca. 150m west to Gendarmenmarkt, turn right on Markgrafenstraße, walk ca. 50m, and then turn right again onto Jägerstraße.

- Berlin Hauptbahnhof (Central Rail Station): Take eastbound S-Bahn to Alexanderplatz Station (all eastbound S-Bahn trains from Hauptbahnhof stop at Alexanderplatz). At Alexanderplatz take the U2 line to Hausvogteiplatz.

- Berlin Schönefeld Airport: Take S9 (Direction S Blankenburg) to Schönhauser Allee. From there take U2 line to Hausvogteiplatz.

- Berlin-Tegel Airport: Take Bus TXL to Staatsoper stop (Unter den Linden). Walk ca. 50m east on Unter den Linden to Oberwallstraße, turn right and walk 200m before turning right onto Jägerstraße.

Detailed directions to the Embassy

Embassy Closure Dates

Embassy closure dates


Tuesday 1 January
Friday 19 April
Monday 21 April
Wednesday 1 May
Thursday 30 May
Monday 10 June 
Thursday 3 October
Tuesday 24 December
Wednesday 25 December
Thursday 26 December

If you are an Irish citizen who requires urgent assistance while the Embassy is closed, please contact the main Embassy number, + 49 (0) 30 220 720, and a leave a message on the Duty Officer mailbox. This mailbox will be monitored regularly.

Please note that the Honorary Consulates are also closed on the above dates.

Learn more...