DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/budapest. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that the Embassy of Ireland, Hungary website has moved and this page is no longer being updated. The Embassy website is now available at Ireland.ie/budapest.

Former Ambassadors

Irish Ambassadors to Hungary
Declan Connolly 1995-1999
Jim Flavin 1999-2002
Brendan McMahon 2002-2006
Martin Greene 2006-2009
John Deady 2010-2012
Kevin Dowling 2012-2015
Patrick Kelly 2015-2019
Ronan Gargan 2019-2023
Ragnar Almqvist 2023-


Deputy Ambassadors to Hungary
Derek Hannon 1995-1999
Brian McElduff 1999-2003
Sean Norton 2003-2004
Peter McIvor 2004-2008
Dermot McGauran 2008-2012
Maurice O'Donnell 2012-2014
Wendy Dorman-Smith 2014-2016
Méabh Ní Drisceoil 2016-2019
Kevin Hennessy 2019-2023
James Hagan 2023-