Skip to main content

Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

The Embassy’s History

The first Irish Diplomatic Mission in Luxembourg was established on the 25th July 1973. Diplomatic Relations with Luxembourg were established on the 20th December 1961.

Former Ambassadors/Chargés d’Affaires a.i.:

Peadar Carpenter Ambassador 2014-2019
Diarmuid O'Leary Ambassador 2010-2014
Martin Burke Ambassador 2006-2010
Michael Hoey Ambassador 2001-2006
Gerard McCoy Chargé d'Affaires a.i. 2000-2001
Geraldine Skinner Ambassador 1994-2000
Maurice Biggar Chargé d'Affaires a.i. 1993-1994
Liam Rigney Ambassador 1989-1993
Aidan Molloy Ambassador 1985-1989
Kevin Rush Ambassador 1980-1985
Valentine Iremonger Ambassador 1973-1980