Skip to main content

Embassy’s History

Ireland established diplomatic relations with the Republic of Korea in September, 1983 and in April 1989 the Government decided to open an Embassy in Seoul. The first resident Ambassador was Mr. Richard Ryan. The Republic of Korea opened an Embassy in Dublin in 1987.

In 2004 Enterprise Ireland appointed a representative in Seoul to assist Irish exporters in conjunction with the Embassy. In 2013 the IDA opened an office in Seoul.

High level Irish Government visits to the Republic of Korea have taken place over the years such as the former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern in 2000 and President Mrs Mary Mc Aleese in 2005. In recent times Ministers have visited Korea for St. Patricks day including Minister for Sport and Tourism, Leo Varadkar T.D and Minister for Youth and Children Frances Fitzgerald T.D, and Minister for Jobs Enterprise and Innovation Richard Bruton T.D and Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform Brendan Howlin T.D visited Korea. Most recently, Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform Paschal Donohoe T.D. visited Korea in March 2017.

Irish Ambassadors to Seoul

Richard Ryan 1989-1993

Brendan Moran 1993-1998

Paul Murray 1999-2004

Conor Murphy 2004-2009

Eamonn Mc Kee 2009- 2013

Aingeal O’Donoghue 2013-2017

Julian Clare 2017-present

Ireland established formal diplomatic relations with the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK) on a non residential basis on 27 January, 2004. Ireland’s Ambassador in Seoul is also accredited to the DPRK.