Skip to main content

Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

The Embassy’s History

Find out about the Embassy's history, including where we are and some of our former Ambassadors. 

Diplomatic relations between Ireland and The Netherlands were established in 1945 and Ireland’s first envoy to The Netherlands was appointed in 1950.

Interestingly, between 1962 and 1972, the Irish Ambassador in the Netherlands was also accredited to Denmark!

The Embassy has been at its current location on the Scheveningseweg since 2010, having formerly been located on the Dr Kuyperstraat and the Klatteweg.

In the past Ireland also maintained an Honorary Consul in Rotterdam.

Irish Ambassadors to The Netherlands

Josephine McNeill

Minister Plenipotentiary and Envoy Extraordinary

1950 – 1955

Timothy J. O’Driscoll

Minister Plenipotentiary and Envoy Extraordinary

1955 – 1956

Brian Gallagher

Minister Plenipotentiary and Envoy Extraordinary, Ambassador after 1958

1956 – 1962

James Wilfrid Lennon


1962 – 1967

Eoin MacWhite


1967 – 1972

Sean Morrissy


1973 – 1980

Kester Heaslip


1980 – 1986

James Kirwan


1986 – 1990

Denis O’Leary


1990 – 1995

John Swift


1995 – 2001

Richard Townsend


2001 – 2005

Richard Ryan


2005 – 2009

Mary Whelan


2009 – 2014

John Neary


2014 - 2016 

Kevin Kelly 


2016 -  Present

Documents on Irish Foreign Policy project

Learn more about the history of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and our collaboration with the Royal Irish Academy's Documents on Irish Foreign Policy project