Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

The Embassy

Practical information on who we are and how to find us.

The Embassy of Ireland in Canberra, Australia

  • Staff
  • Directions
  • Opening Hours
  • Closure Dates


Ambassador: H.E. Breandán Ó Caollaí

Deputy Head of Mission: Mr Eamonn Robinson

Second Secretary: Mr Graham Hartnett

Email: Submit your query



Directions to the Embassy

20 Arkana Street, Yarralumla, ACT 2600

The Embassy is located in the suburb of Yarralumla in South Canberra, near Parliament House.

Public transport
The number 1 bus route passes closest to the Embassy. A route map can be found here. From the City Bus Station, take the number 1 us to the corner of Hopetoun Circuit and Schlich Street. From the bus stop it is about a ten minute walk to the Embassy. Turn right on to Schlich Street (third exit off roundabout) and continue about 250 metres to Arkana Street. Turn left into Arkana Street and continue 350m, crossing Empire circuit, to the Embassy. The Embassy building is on the right hand side of the road beside the EU Delegation and opposite the Embassy of Spain.

By car
From State Circle, turn on to Perth Avenue, then left onto Moonah Place at the US Embassy. Proceed past the US Embassy, then take the first right turn onto Arkana Street. The Embassy is 300 metres down this road on the left hand side, opposite the Embassy of Spain.

Opening Hours

Embassy Opening Hours

The Embassy is open to the public from Monday to Friday 9:30am – 12:30pm; and 2pm – 4pm.

The Passport Office takes phone queries Monday to Friday from 2pm – 4pm.

Closure Dates

The Embassy of Ireland in Canberra will be closed on the following days: (please note the Family & Community Day in September has been changed to Reconciliation Day)

New Year's Day Monday 1 January
Australia Day Friday 26 January
Canberra Day Monday 12 March
Good Friday Friday 30 March
Easter Monday Monday 2 April
Anzac Day Wednesday 25 April 
Reconciliation Day Monday 28 May
Queen's Birthday Monday 11 June
Labour Day Monday 1 October
Christmas Day Tuesday 25 December 
St. Stephen's Day Wednesday 26 December