DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/brussels. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that the Embassy of Ireland, Belgium website has moved and this page is no longer being updated. The Embassy website is now available at Ireland.ie/brussels.

2023 Presidential Distinguished Service Awards

The nomination process for the 2023 Presidential Distinguished Service Award for the Irish Abroad (PDSA) opens on Thursday, 6 July 2023 and will close on Thursday, 17 August 2023.

This Award was established by the Government in 2012, to provide a system of State recognition for those living abroad.  There are eight categories under which individuals can be nominated:

  • Arts, Culture, and Sport
  • Business and Economic Development
  • Charitable Works and Advocacy
  • Climate Action and Food Security
  • Education, Science, and Innovation
  • Inclusion and Equality
  • Irish Community Support
  • Peace, Reconciliation, and Development

In order to be eligible for consideration, nominees must be habitually resident outside the island of Ireland and able to satisfy the following additional requirements:

(i)    have rendered distinguished service to the nation and/or its reputation abroad;

(ii)   have actively and demonstrably contributed to Ireland and/or its international reputation and/or Irish communities abroad in at least one of the categories listed above;

(iii)  have a track record of sustained support and engagement with Ireland and/or its international reputation and/or Irish communities abroad over a period of not less than 5 year

(iv) or have made a sustained and distinguished service on a global or international issue of importance.  

Nominations can be made by any member of the public, but are submitted through the Embassy of Ireland in the country of residence of the nominee or the Embassy of Ireland which is accredited to that country.  If you know someone who meets the criteria above, please complete the 2023 Nomination Form and forward it to the relevant Embassy for the country the nominee is resident in, before Thursday, 17 August 2023.   

Further details on eligibility and the nomination process are available here, together with details of previous recipients of this Award.  

Over the last 11 years, 120 remarkable recipients have received the Award.  We want to ensure that the Award continues to attract worthy nominees and would therefore appreciate your assistance in publicising this Award through your networks and social media channels, and would encourage you to consider nominating eligible candidates.  


« Previous Item | Next Item »