Skip to main content

Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

PermRep Staff –Autumn 2019


Representatives and Attachés at the PermRep (November 2019, by Council) (Note: some staff work for multiple sections)

Permanent Representation of Ireland to the EU, in Brussels

Address: Rue Froissart 50, 1040 Brussels, Belgium

Telephone: 00 32 2 28 23 200   Fax: 00 32 2 230 3203

Twitter name: 'Ireland In the EU'. Handle: @IrelandRepBru

Permanent Representative (Head of Mission): Declan Kelleher (COREPER II, EU-UK)

Deputy Permanent Representative: Maeve Collins (COREPER I)

Political and Security Committee Representative: Noel White

Military Representative to EU Military Committee: Brigadier General Philip Brennan

ANTICI (COREPER II) attaché: Donal Kenneally
MERTENS (COREPER I) attaché: Ciarán Delargy
NICOLAIDES (PSC) attaché: Shona Dunne
PA to Permanent Representative Kelleher: Jackie Cowap
PA to Deputy Permanent Representative Hackett: Jacinta Dempsey
PA to PSC Representative: Marie Farrelly
Clerical Officer (COREPER II): Gerry Donnelly

Press Relations Section (for all sections, including Brexit Unit)    

Press Spokesperson/Head of Press relations:  Shane Sargeant, Tel: 00 32 490 56 48 43
Policy Officer: Darragh Cunningham
Clerical Officer: Úna Greene (also with Brexit Unit, Attorney General Section)

Brexit (EU-UK Negotiations) Unit

Counsellor: Caitríona Ingoldsby
Attaché: Amal Kaoua
Attaché: Colum Hatchell
Attaché: Stephen O'Dwyer
Policy Officer: Alex Redmond
Assistant: Úna Greene

Institutions Section/EU General Affairs

Head of Institutions Section: Eamonn MacAodha, Counsellor
Attaché: Catherine Campbell (EU Staffing)
Attaché: Sarah McCabe (European Parliament)
Clerical Officer: Afroditi Psatha

Agriculture and Fisheries Council (AGRIFISH)

Counsellor: Breffni Carpenter (Agriculture)
Attaché: Donal O'Donnell (Veterinary)
Attaché: Colm O’Suilleabháin (Fisheries)
Attaché: Paul O'Gorman (General Agricultural Affairs, SCA)
Clerical Officer: Elaine Murphy

Competitiveness Council (COMPET)

Counsellor: Eadaoin Collins (Competitiveness, Single Market, Industry, SMEs, State Aid)
Attaché: Patricia Brady (Research, Space)
Attaché: Aideen Cusack (Competiveness, Single Market, Intellectual Property)
Attaché: Cathal Lynch (Consumer, Company Law, Chemicals, Workplace Health & Safety)
Clerical Officer: Cora Hayes

Economic and Financial Council (ECOFIN)

Counsellor: Susan O’Reilly (Head of Section)
Attaché: Susan Evans (Taxation policy)
Attaché: Ambrose Murray (Financial Services)
Attaché: Vincent O'Sullivan (Financial Services)
Attaché: Fiona Ralph (MFF/Budget)
Attaché: John Golden (ECOFIN Brexit Attaché/Financial Counsellor Alternate)
Attaché: Corita Goulding (Public Expenditure and Reform)
Attaché: Keith Ruffles 
Clerical Officer: Martina Cunningham

Employment, Social Policy, Health and Consumer Affairs Council (EPSCO)

Attaché: Darragh Doherty (Employment and Social Affairs)
Attaché: Linda O'Connor
Attaché: Emma Bradley (Health and Food Safety)
Clerical Officer: Stacie Callaghan
Clerical Officer: Elaine Byrne (Health)

Education, Youth, Culture and Sport Council (EYCS)

Attaché: Paul O'Brien (Education)
Attaché: Siobhan Kelly (Maritime Transport, Sport & Tourism)
Attaché: Therese O’Connor (Culture)
Clerical Officer: Orla Sharp
Clerical Officer: Stacie Callaghan
Clerical Officer: Elaine Byrne  (Sport & Tourism)

Environment Council (ENVI)

Attaché: Pat Fenton (Climate)
Attaché: Aidan Ryan (Environment)
Attaché: Colm Ó Conaill (Energy)
Attaché: Paul Lee (Cyber)
Clerical Officer: Orla Sharp

Foreign Affairs Council (FAC) General Affairs Council (GAC)

Antici: Donal Kenneally
Attaché: Derek Lambe
Attaché:  Lisa Walshe
Attaché:  Ian Devine
Attaché:  Cillian O’Kelly
Attaché:  Thomas Tichelmann
Attaché: Orlagh Condron
Attaché: Sarah Hamilton
Attaché:  John Dundon
Attaché:  Killian Browne
Attaché:  Catherine Campbell
Attaché:  Lorraine Christian
Attaché:  Dymphna Keogh (Maritime Affairs)
Clerical Officer:  Joseph Donegan
Counsellor:  Barry Conroy
Attaché:  Philip Mudge
Attaché:  Brían O’Meara
Executive Officer:  Amanda Lockhart
Clerical Officer:  Bernie Kelly

Military Staff

Brigadier General Philip Brennan
Colonel Seán O’Keeffe
Lt Col Bryan Carley
Commandant Joe Freeley
Clerical Officer:  Bernie Kelly

Foreign Affairs Council (Trade)

Counsellor: Brian Dalton (Trade)
Attaché: Dermot Keehan (Trade)
Policy Officer: Eoghan Regan

Justice and Home Affairs Council (JHA)

Counsellor: Antoinette Doran (Judicial Cooperation, Police Cooperation; Data Protection, Counter Terrorism, Brexit related issues)
Attaché: Colin Murphy (Civil Law, Equality measures, Judicial Training and e-Justice)
Attaché: John Keyes (Criminal Law, Data Protection)
Attaché: Owen McLaughlin (Asylum and Migration)
Attaché: Sinéad Leyden (Police Cooperation, information exchange, Schengen related measures, counter-terrorism)
Clerical Officer: Emma Mc Hugh (Administration and coordination)

Transport, Telecommunications and Energy (TTE)

Counsellor: Sylvester Carruth (Transport)
Attaché: Ray Malanaphy (Aviation)
Attaché: Colm Ó Conaill (Energy)
Attaché: Nessa McKevitt (Telecommunications)
Attaché: Sinead Leyden (Telecommunications, cyber-crime)
Attaché: Siobhán Kelly (Maritime Transport, Sport & Tourism)
Attaché: Lee Paul (Cyber)
Clerical Officer: Elaine Byrne

Office of the Attorney General

Counsellor: David Brophy
Clerical Officer: Úna Greene

Office of the Revenue Commissioners

Counsellor: Joe Ryan
Attaché: Eoghan Ryan

Administration section

Head of Administration: Eamonn Mac Aodha, Counsellor
Deputy Head of Administration : Lorraine Christian
Natalie Syoen
Carine Boisdenghien
Arianne Van Leeuw
Emer Donnelly
Seán Murphy
Gerry Poole
Ailish Sweeney
Declan Usher
Julie Callaghan
David Rizza
Christian Vandervaeren

Oireachtas representative

Counsellor: Paul Conway (based at European Parliament)