Skip to main content

Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

Covid-19: Travel Advice for Irish citizens in Bulgaria, Georgia, Armenia (current as of 14 May)

The situation regarding Covid-19 is a developing one and measures outlined below are subject to change. We advise checking latest regulations on the websites of the relevant authorities, which can be found below.

Please monitor the situation in Bulgaria, Georgia and Armenia through the Embassy’s Facebook and Twitter accounts as well as local media and contact the Embassy at if you have specific concerns.

If you are an Irish citizen abroad, register your contact details through our Citizens’ Registration system so that the Embassy will be able to contact you quickly in the event of any major developments that may affect you.

Please note that as of 16th March on, anyone arriving in Ireland from abroad (including Great Britain but not Northern Ireland) is obliged to restrict their movements for a period of 14 days. This applies to Irish citizens and residents as well as visitors. For further information and advice on travel to Ireland please click here.


Bulgaria declared a state of emergency due to Covid-19 on 13th March for a period initially up to 13th April and subsequently extended to 13th May. From 14th May until 14th June, the country has moved to a state of 'epidemic emergency', under which several measures to counter the spread of Covid-19 remain in place.

Shops (outside of shopping malls) and pharmacies continue to operate, but with physical distancing protocols. Restaurants, bars and cafés with outdoor seating areas are allowed to open these outdoor sections if a minimum distance between tables is maintained. Venues where groups gather such as cinemas etc. are allowed to open subject to strict limits on the number of patrons. Further information on measures being taken in Bulgaria may be found on the website of the Ministry of Health of the Republic of Bulgaria (BG). 

Travel into Bulgaria

As of 14th May and until 14th June, entry into the territory of Bulgaria is not allowed except for Bulgarian citizens and holders of valid residence permits and their permitted family members, as well as certain categories of workers and humanitarian cases. The Bulgarian authorities consider any Bulgarian residence permits expiring between 13th March 2020 and 31st October 2020 valid for an extra six months beyond the end of the given period of validity. Anyone anyone arriving in Bulgaria is subject to mandatory self-quarantine for 14 days. This order may be amended, extended or revoked at any point.

Travel out of Bulgaria

The Bulgarian Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises its own citizens to refrain from travelling abroad unless absolutely necessary. Similarly, if you are resident in Bulgaria and wish to remain in Bulgaria over the coming period, you are advised not to travel outside the country as there may be restrictions on re-entering or limited travel options available.

If you wish to return from Bulgaria to Ireland, you are advised to fly via London or Amsterdam in the absence of direct flights. You should check with the authorities of the country through which you intend to transit to make sure that there are no restrictions on doing so. Please check our information on travelling to Ireland for further details of the requirements on arrival in Ireland. These include mandatory self-isolation for 14 days.


In connection with the Covid-19 global pandemic, the government of Georgia declared a state of emergency on 21st March 2020. As of this date, all scheduled flights to and from Georgia have been suspended with permission only granted for a limited number of Georgian Airways and specially chartered repatriation flights. Irish citizens visiting/living in Georgia who wish to return to Ireland (or another place of residence) should contact us at for information on how to enquire about bookings on the remaining available flights. For up-to-date information on the situation in Georgia including any Covid-19 measures in place please visit


In connection with the spread of Covid-19, the government of the Republic of Armenia declared a state of emergency on 16th March. This is in place until 13th June. Entry into Armenia is allowed only for Armenian citizens and their non-citizen family members as well as people with residency in Armenia. There are extremely limited air connections between Yerevan and Europe via Minsk with Belavia. For up-to-date information on restrictions in Armenia, please visit the websites of the Government of the Republic of Armenia, as well as the Ministry of Health and Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

| Next Item »