Skip to main content

Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

Covid-19: Travel Advice for Irish citizens in Bulgaria, Georgia, Armenia (current as of 1st July)

General advice

Ireland continues to recommend staying at home as far as possible and advises against all but essential overseas travel. Please note, if you are considering travel outside of the island of Ireland, that anyone entering Ireland, including any Irish citizen or resident returning from a trip abroad, should self-isolate for 14 days after arriving (unless transiting, or travelling for a limited number of specific economic, employment, medical or humanitarian reasons)For further information and advice please click here.

The situation regarding Covid-19 is a developing one and measures outlined below are subject to change. We advise checking latest regulations on the websites of the relevant authorities, which can be found below. Please also monitor the situation in Bulgaria, Georgia and Armenia through the Embassy’s Facebook and Twitter accounts as well as local media and contact the Embassy at if you have specific concerns. If you are an Irish citizen abroad, register your contact details through our Citizens’ Registration system so that the Embassy will be able to contact you quickly in the event of any major developments that may affect you.


Anyone planning to travel to Bulgaria from Ireland and back again should be aware that Ireland advises against any non-essential overseas travel at this time and requires anyone arriving in Ireland, including Irish citizens returning from abroad, to complete a form confirming where they will self-isolate for 14 days

Irish citizens are in principle permitted to enter Bulgaria and are at this time not required to self-quarantine if coming to Bulgaria from Ireland. Please see below for the rules that are in effect if you are coming to Bulgaria from elsewhere.

Until 15th July anyone who travels to Bulgaria from any non-EU/Schengen (etc.) country including the UK (but not Bosnia & Herzegovina, Montenegro or Serbia), as well as Portugal and Sweden, is required to self-quarantine for 14 days on arrival (unless transiting Bulgaria and leaving immediately or travelling for a limited number of specific economic, employment, medical or humanitarian reasons). The requirement to self-quarantine applies regardless of the person's citizenship. The Bulgarian authorities have confirmed that the self-quarantine requirement relates to the place where a person's journey starts, regardless of transit by air, sea or land after leaving home. 

Please note that the Bulgarian authorities may change entry and quarantine requirements at any time, without warning.

Regarding measures in place in Bulgaria: Until 15th July, Bulgaria is under a state of 'epidemic emergency', under which measures to counter the spread of Covid-19 may remain in place or be introduced. Further information on measures being taken in Bulgaria may be found on the website of the Ministry of Health of the Republic of Bulgaria (BG).  


In connection with the Covid-19 global pandemic, the government of Georgia declared a state of emergency on 21st March 2020. As of this date, all scheduled flights to and from Georgia were suspended with permission only granted for a limited number of Georgian Airways and specially chartered repatriation flights. As of 1st July certain commercial flights may become available again. For up-to-date information on the situation in Georgia including any Covid-19 measures in place please visit


The Covid-19 situation in Armenia is deteriorating and we continue to advise against travel there. At present,there are extremely limited air connections between Yerevan and Europe via Minsk with Belavia. For up-to-date information on restrictions in Armenia, please visit the websites of the Government of the Republic of Armenia, as well as the Ministry of Health and Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

| Next Item »