Skip to main content

Ireland-Africa Fellows Programme: Applications Open 5 July

The Ireland-Africa Fellowship Programme 2022/23 opens on 5 July 2021!

The Ireland-Africa Fellowship Programme enables mid-career professionals from Ethiopia, South Sudan and Djibouti to benefit from a prestigious, world-class postgraduate education.

Successful applicants will undertake a fully funded one-year master’s level programme at a higher education institution (HEI) in Ireland. The award covers programme fees, flights, accommodation and living costs. Eligible master’s level programmes in Ireland commence in August or September each year and, depending on the programme, run for between 10 and 16 months. The Ireland-Africa Fellows Programme promotes equal opportunity and welcomes diversity.

In Ethiopia, South Sudan and Djibouti, the organisations listed below are invited to nominate candidates for the Fellowship awards. Applications from other individuals will not be accepted. 

For more information and eligibility criteria, please visit


Adgirat Diocese Catholic Secretariat (ADCS)

Agency for Refugees & Returnee Affairs

Amhara Region Food Security Coordination Directorate

Amhara Bureau of Health

Amhara Bureau of Women

Afar Region Bureau of Health

Afar Region Bureau of Women

Afar Region Food Security Coordination Directorate


Christian Relief Society (CRS)

Civil Society Support Programme (CSSP)

Conciliation Resources


Ethiopian Civil Society Coalition (ECSC)

Ethiopian Human Rights Commission

Ethiopian Investment Commission

Ethiopian Social Accountability Programme (ESAP)

Federal Food security coordination directorate

Forum of Federation (TSP)


House of Peoples Representatives (HoPR)

Health and Nutrition Programme  

Human Rights Council (HRCO)

Job Creation Commission

Ministry of Culture and Tourism

Ministry of Finance

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Ministry of Health

Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs

Ministry of Peace

Ministry of Transport

Ministry of Women Children and Youth

National Disaster Risk Management Commission (NDRMC)

Oromia Region Food Security Coordination Directorate

Self Help Africa

Somali Region Bureau of Health

Somali Region Bureau of Women

Somali Region Food Security Coordination Directorate

Spiritan community outreach Ethiopia (SCORE) 

SNNPR Region Food Security Coordination Directorate

Tigray Bureau of Health

Tigray Region Food Security Coordination Directorate

Tear Fund





South Sudan


Christian Aid


Ministry of Foreign Affairs


Titi Foundation


World Vision



Ministry of Foreign Affairs