Skip to main content

Did you know, you can apply for your child's passport online?

All Irish citizens can renew their passport book and passport card, from anywhere in the world. Irish citizens can apply for first time passports online if they are resident in the countries listed in the table below.


It is important to note that child passport applications involve some extra steps:

  • Children can no longer be included on their parents' or guardians' passports. This is intended to make international travel more secure for children. In order to travel, each child must have their own passport. 
  • For a passport to issue to a child under 18, the consent of all the child's guardians must be noted on the passport application. This applies for first time passport applications and passport renewals. See our guide to guardianship & consent for more information.
  • The signatures of the guardians granting consent must be appropriately witnessed. Our list of witnesses will tell you who can witness your child's passport application.
  • Guardian consent must be witnessed in the country you reside in.

Please note: Passports for children (under 18 years of age) are issued with a validity of 5 years.
Irish citizens can apply for first time passports online if they are resident in the following countries:
Ireland Afghanistan American Samoa Argentina Australia
Austria Azerbaijan Bahrain Belgium Belize
Bolivia Botswana Brazil Bulgaria Burundi
Cambodia Canada Canary Islands Chile China
Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of Costa Rica Croatia
Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti
Ecuador El Salvador Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia
Federated States of Micronesia Finland France Germany Gibraltar
Great Britain Greece Guam Guatemala Guernsey
Guyana Honduras Hungary Iceland Indonesia
Iran Iraq Isle Of Man Israel Italy
Japan Jersey Jordan Kenya Korea, Republic Of
Kuwait Lao People’s Democratic Republic Latvia Lesotho Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg Madagascar Malawi Malaysia
Malta Marshall Islands Mauritius Mexico Mongolia
Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Netherlands New Zealand
Nicaragua Northern Ireland Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman
Pakistan Palau Palestine Panama Paraguay
Peru Philippines Poland Portugal Puerto Rico
Qatar Romania Saudi Arabia Seychelles Singapore
Slovak Republic Slovenia Somalia South Africa South Sudan, Republic of
Spain Sudan Suriname Sweden Switzerland
Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Tunisia Turkey United Arab Emirates
United States Of America Uruguay Vietnam Virgin Islands (U.S) Yemen, Republic Of