DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/lilongwe. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that the Embassy of Ireland, Malawi website has moved and this page is no longer being updated. The Embassy website is now available at Ireland.ie/lilongwe.

Ireland-Africa Fellows Programme 2023-2024 - Applications now open!

Ireland-Africa Fellows Programme 2023-2024 - Applications now open!

A group of Malawian Fellows from the 2021-2022 programme gathered in Dublin to attend a Seminar Day hosted by Irish Aid in June 2022.

The Ireland Fellows Programme enables early to mid-career professionals from eligible countries, with leadership potential, to benefit from a prestigious, world-class, quality education contributing to capacity building. It offers selected students the opportunity to undertake a fully funded one-year master’s level programme at a higher education institution (HEI) in Ireland. The award covers programme fees, flights, accommodation and living costs. Eligible master’s level programmes in Ireland commence in August or September each year and, depending on the programme, will run for between 10 and 16 months. The Ireland Fellows Programme promotes equal opportunity and welcomes diversity.

The aims of the Programme are to nurture future leaders; to develop in-country capacity to achieve national SDG goals; and to build positive relationships with Ireland. 

Studying at postgraduate level in Ireland offers a unique opportunity to join programmes that are driving innovation and changing lives worldwide. Applicants can choose from almost 200 postgraduate programmes specially selected to enhance capacity in line with stated country development goals and the strategy of the Irish Embassy.

Eligible Courses: 

Eligible courses are in areas such as agriculture, health, education, human rights, computer science, engineering, business and more, and are listed in a Directory of Eligible Programmes.

Applications are by invitation only to persons that are currently employed in the institutions/organisations listed below:

International centre for Tropical Agriculture CIAT

International Potato Centre (CIP)

International Institute of Tropical Agriculture

Ministry of Agriculture, Irrigation & Water Development



Department of Nutrition & HIV and AIDS

ACE - (Agriculture Commodities Exchange)


Ministry of Gender

Ministry of Forestry Natutral & Natural Resources

Department of Energy

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Ministry of Finance

Ministry of Tourism Culture & Wildlife

Malawi Electoral Commission

Anti Corruption Bureau

Local Government

National Registration Bureau

Ministry of Justice

Malawi Judiciary

Office of the Ombudsman

Women in Law Association

Parliamentary Staff (Not MPs)

Nyasa Rainbow Alliance

Association of Persons with Albinism in Malawi - APAM

Billy Riordan Clinic

St Johns Institute Of Health


Before starting your application, you may wish to familiarize yourself with the eligibility criteria that applicants must meet:

In order to be eligible for an Irish Aid fellowship applicants must:

Be a citizen of Malawi and be residing in Malawi.

  • Hold a bachelor's degree in a related discipline with Merit or higher from an accredited and government-recognised higher education institution.
  • Not already hold a qualification at master's level or higher
  • Be applying to commence a new course at master's level in Ireland no sooner than August/September 2023.
  • Have identified and selected three relevant courses from the Irish Aid Directory of Eligible Postgraduate Courses, available at www.irishaidfellowships.ie 
  • Have a clear understanding of the academic and English language proficiencies required for both courses chosen.
  • Must not have applied for an Ireland Fellowship on more than one previous occasion.
  • Have a minimum of three years' substantial work experience that is directly relevant to your proposed programme(s) of study.
  • Be able to demonstrate a strong commitment to the development of Malawi.
  • Meet any relevant procedural requirements of the Government of Malawi.
  • Be applying to commence a new qualification and not be seeking funding for a course they have already commenced or which will begin before fellowship awards have been notified.

How to apply 

Please read the Application Guidance Note carefully before completing as eligibility criteria may differ from country to country.

 The application process consists of three stages:

  • Stage 1   Preliminary Application;
  • Stage 2   Detailed Application;
  • Stage 3   Interviews.

Application forms can be downloaded from here. All Stage 1 applications must be emailed to malawifellowships@dfa.ie.


English Language Proficiency

Irish higher education institutions require a high standard of English language proficiency and this will be verified by English language testing. This is necessary for admission to all Irish Higher Education Institutions, with no exceptions. English language testing is normally through the International English Language Test (IELTS- www.IELTS.org).  

You can apply through Stages 1 and 2 of this process without having completed an IELTS test; however, you must have noted the IELTS score required for your selected programmes and considered whether you can achieve this grade. If you have completed an IELTS test, provide full details as requested under question 2 of the application form and note that the test is only valid if completed in September 2021 or later.


The deadline for receipt of Stage 1 applications is 31st July 2022.

Please include "Ireland-Africa Fellowship" in the subject line of all emails.


| Next Item »