DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to gov.ie. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that this page has moved and this content is no longer being updated. Up-to-date information is now available at gov.ie.

Management Board

The Management Board is an advisory and decision-making forum that supports the Secretary General in the management of the Department. The Board is chaired by the Secretary General, Joe Hackett, and membership comprises both Deputy Secretary Generals, all Assistant Secretaries based in Ireland, one representative of the mission network at Assistant Secretary level and an officer at the Counsellor grade.

The Board assists the Secretary General in the formulation and management of policies and programmes as well as in the development and improved performance of the organisation. The Board also decides on assignments within the Department, at home and abroad, other than at Assistant Secretary and Head of Mission levels.

The Board meets fortnightly, or more frequently as required. Other Departmental officials attend Management Board meetings periodically to brief and participate in discussions on topical developments in their areas of responsibility.

The Management Board also meets periodically with the Minister for Foreign Affairs and the Department's Ministers of State to consider strategic policy and management issues.

The current members of the Board are:

  • Mr. Joe Hackett, Secretary General
  • Mr. John Conlan, Deputy Secretary General, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer
  • Ms. Sonja Hyland, Deputy Secretary General (Global Issues) and Political Director, Political Division
  • Ms. Maeve von Heynitz, Ambassador of Ireland to Mexico
  • Mr. Michael Gaffey, Director General, Development Cooperation and Africa Division
  • Ms. Maeve Collins, Director General (Acting), European Union Division
  • Mr. John Concannon, Director General, Global Ireland Division
  • Ms. Síle Maguire, Director General, Human Resources Division & Corporate Services Division
  • Mr. Ruairí de Búrca, Director General, Ireland, UK and Americas Division
  • Mr. Paul Kavanagh, Chief of Protocol, Protocol Division
  • Ms. Emer Rocke, Director, Strategy, Governance and Change Unit
  • Ms. Fiona Penollar, Director General, Citizen Services Division
  • Mr. Declan Smyth, Legal Advisor, Legal Division‌‌