DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/en/dfa/overseas-travel/consular-services/marriage-and-civil-partnership-abroad. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that this page has moved and this content is no longer being updated. Up-to-date information is now available at Ireland.ie/dfa/overseas-travel/consular-services/marriage-and-civil-partnership-abroad.

New Guidance on Applications for EU Member States

On 16 February 2019 the EU Regulation on Public Documents came into force and as a result certain public documents will no longer require legalisation and the apostille formality within the EU. This exemption only affects public documents issued by the authorities of a Member State and presented to the authorities of another Member State.  This means that an apostille stamp should no longer be required when a Certificate of Freedom to Marry is presented to a public authority in another EU Member State. For further information on this Regulation, please consult the EU Justice portal.

To reduce the need for translation within the EU, multilingual standard forms have been introduced for Certificates of Freedom to Marry. The multilingual standard forms will be issued with all certificates for the following EU Member States –

  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden

Please note if you are getting married in any of the countries listed below, you should not require a multilingual standard form as the certificate will be issued in the official language of that country.

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom

For enquiries, please contact the team either by phone at +353 1 408 2523 (weekdays 10am-12pm) or by filling out the enquiry form.