DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/travel. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that the Department of Foreign Affairs’ Travel Advice is now available at Ireland.ie/travel. Travel Advice on this webpage is no longer being updated.

General COVID-19 Travel Advisory in Operation

General COVID-19 Travel Advisory in Operation

General COVID-19 Travel Advisory in Operation:

Travel advice for almost 200 countries is available on Travel Advice - Department of Foreign Affairs (dfa.ie)

The purpose of the Department’s Travel Advice is to provide information to the general public so that citizens can make informed decisions for themselves. 

When planning travel abroad, citizens should take into account the risk of testing positive for COVID-19 while abroad. If you contract COVID-19 when abroad, you may face delays and additional costs before returning to Ireland. Citizens are advised to take out comprehensive travel insurance and to check with their insurance provider on COVID coverage before travel.

Citizens travelling within the EU should be aware that there are no COVID-19 restrictions in place for any EU country when travelling from Ireland. Information about entry restrictions applied by countries outside the EU is available on our country-specific travel advice pages and citizens should stay up to date with the latest information before departure.

If you have a travel query, you can email us at traveladvice@dfa.iePlease note that passport queries cannot be answered at this address, please contact the passport service via webchat on www.dfa.ie 

Citizens travelling abroad are advised to monitor our travel advice and follow us on Twitter. You are also advised to register with your local Irish Embassy or Consulate.

Where to go for further travel information:

Additional Information

Information on the operation of the EU Digital COVID Certificate is available on www.gov.ie. If you have an urgent query regarding an EU-DCC, please call the EU DCC helpline, which is open Monday – Friday, on 1800 807 008. Those outside Ireland can call +353 1 903 6437.

Please note that the Department’s TravelWise app has been temporarily suspended. We apologise for this inconvenience. Updated information will continue to be provided on this website.