Skip to main content

EU Traffic Lights Approach to Travel

On 13 October, Member States adopted the EU Recommendation on a coordinated approach to travel restrictions in the context of COVID-19.  This ‘traffic lights’ approach provides for regions across the European Union (EU) and European Economic Area (EEA) to be categorised as green, orange, red or grey, on the basis of the risk levels associated with COVID-19. On 28 January 2021, a new dark red category was introduced on the weekly published map for areas where the COVID-19 virus is circulating at very high levels including because of more infectious variants. Further information is available on the Re-Open Europa website.

combined indicator map is published each week by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), based on agreed criteria including the 14-day cumulative incidence rate, testing rate and testing positivity rates.

Traffic Light Graph

The countries below are included in the maps published by the ECDC.

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Croatia
  5. Cyprus
  6. Czech Republic
  7. Denmark
  8. Estonia
  9. Finland
  10. France (and its overseas territories and regions)
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. Hungary
  14. Iceland
  15. Italy
  16. Latvia
  17. Liechtenstein
  18. Lithuania
  19. Luxembourg
  20. Malta
  21. Netherlands
  22. Norway
  23. Poland
  24. Portugal
  25. Romania
  26. Slovakia
  27. Slovenia
  28. Spain
  29. Sweden

Information about entry restrictions currently applied by Member States to passengers travelling from Ireland is available on our country-specific travel advice pages. It should be noted that restrictions are likely to change over time. This website will gradually provide more information as it becomes available.