DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/sofia. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that the Embassy of Ireland, Bulgaria website has moved and this page is no longer being updated. The Embassy website is now available at Ireland.ie/sofia.

Additional 16 countries added to the ‘Category 2’

Additional 16 countries added to the ‘Category 2’ countries, which show high instances of COVID-19 cases or of variants of COVID-19 cases. All those intending travelling to Ireland from or via these countries/territories who will arrive after 04:00 hours on 15th April are required to book accommodation for mandatory hotel quarantine in advance of travel on the government portal at this link https://www.quarantinehotelsireland.ie/. This includes those who remain airside when transiting one of these countries/territories.

These additional countries/territories are: Armenia, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bermuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Curaçao, France, Italy, Kenya, Luxembourg, Maldives, Pakistan, Turkey, Ukraine and the USA.

Albania, Israel and St. Lucia have been removed from the list. Anyone currently in mandatory quarantine who has travelled from or through these states must complete their period of quarantine.

This brings the number of countries/territories now on the Category 2 list of designated states to 71. The full list of countries/territories is now as follows:

Andorra, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh,  the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba,  Belgium, Bermuda, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burundi, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Curaçao, Ecuador, Eswatini, Ethiopia, France, French Guiana, Guyana, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Malawi, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Maldives,Oman, Palestine,Pakistan, Paraguay, Panama, Peru, The Philippines, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Rwanda, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Somalia,South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, Turkey, Ukraine ,United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe, and the Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands.


« Previous Item | Next Item »