DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/sofia. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that the Embassy of Ireland, Bulgaria website has moved and this page is no longer being updated. The Embassy website is now available at Ireland.ie/sofia.

Ireland Placed on Bulgaria's List of Red Zone Countries

As of 23 November, Ireland has been placed on Bulgaria’s Red Zone list.

As of 1 December, for Irish citizens, and those with EU passports, travelling from another member state of the EU, EEA, Swiss Confederation, or the UK, entry into Bulgaria is permitted by presenting ONE of the following:

  • an EU or similar vaccination certificate; OR
  • proof for recovery from COVID; OR
  • a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of arrival into Bulgaria.

A negative antigen test is not accepted for entry from Red Zone countries.

Further information is available on our travel advice page.

You can find the latest information on Bulgaria’s restrictions here:


Please contact the Bulgarian Embassy in Ireland for further information:


« Previous Item | Next Item »