DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/sofia. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that the Embassy of Ireland, Bulgaria website has moved and this page is no longer being updated. The Embassy website is now available at Ireland.ie/sofia.

Changes to the designated list of countries for Mandatory Hotel Quarantine

Changes to the designated list of countries for Mandatory Hotel Quarantine.

This will be effective from 04:00hrs on Wednesday 12th May.

All passengers arriving into Ireland after this time travelling from or via a designated state will be required to complete mandatory hotel quarantine. This applies to all passengers who have been present in these designated countries in the 14 days before arrival in Ireland, even if only transiting through one of these countries and even if remaining airside. A place in mandatory hotel quarantine must be booked in advance of travel and passengers will be required to show proof of their booking before boarding flights or ferries to Ireland.

Please be advised that Georgia has been added to list of designated state, and that Armenia has been removed from the list.

The complete list of countries and territories is as follows:

Andorra, Angola, Argentina, Bahrain, Bangladesh,  Belgium, Bermuda, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Eswatini, Ethiopia, France, French Guiana, Georgia, Guyana, India, Iran, Kenya, Kuwait, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Malawi, Montenegro, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Maldives, Mongolia, Oman, Palestine, Pakistan, Paraguay, Panama, Peru, The Philippines, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Rwanda, Serbia, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

If passengers have been fully vaccinated by one of four EMA-approved vaccines, they are exempt from quarantine. See below amended table of vaccines accepted for exemption from MHQ:


Full course of any one of the following vaccines:

Regarded as fully vaccinated after:

Pfizer-BioNtech Vaccine: BNT162b2 (Comirnaty®),

7 days

Moderna Vaccine: CX-024414 (Moderna®),

14 days

Oxford-AstraZeneca Vaccine: ChAdOx1-SARS-COV-2 (Vaxzevria® or Covishield)

15 days

Johnson & Johnson/Janssen Vaccine: Ad26.COV2-S [recombinant] (Janssen®)

14 days

Also, dependants, including minors (those under 18), travelling with a person who meets the criteria of ‘fully vaccinated” are also considered exempt from the requirement to complete mandatory hotel quarantine. A dependant person is defined in the legislation as:


(a) a child, or

(b) a person who is 18 years or over and is suffering from a mental or physical disability to such an extent that it is not reasonably possible for him or her to look after himself or herself fully;



« Previous Item | Next Item »