DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has now moved to Ireland.ie/sofia. If you are not redirected in five seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

Please be advised that the Embassy of Ireland, Bulgaria website has moved and this page is no longer being updated. The Embassy website is now available at Ireland.ie/sofia.

Covid-19: Travel Advice (current as of 1 February)

If you are not travelling to Ireland for the purposes of returning to your ordinary place of residence or for vital work or other essential reasons, you are advised to reconsider your journey. If you do travel to Ireland from Bulgaria, please  make yourself familiar with Covid-19 measures currently in place in Ireland.

Starting from the Saturday, 16 January, Ireland now requires passengers from all countries to show a negative PCR test within 72 hours of arrival in Ireland.

Passengers from other red or grey regions are advised to restrict their movements for 14 days, or submit a negative PCR test within five days of arrival in Ireland you can take the PCR tests. At present, Bulgaria is listed as a red region. Travellers from the UK are requested to self-isolate for 14 days on arrival without exception.

Passengers from green and orange regions on the ECDC map are not advised to restrict their movements on arrival, but must adhere to the local public health guidance. Children aged six and under will be exempt.

Due to the current high rates of COVID-19 in Ireland, this information is subject to change. We recommend checking in with the below links for updates on current travel rules:

Travelling to Ireland furing the COVID 19 Pandemic

Living with COVID 19: A guide to Level 5 restrictions

For information on sites in Bulgaria where PCR testing can be done, please click here (in Bulgarian). An English translation will follow shortly.

Please also check with your airline company as to any measures they may have implemented for the health and safety of their staff and other passengers.


Information for travelling to Bulgaria

Every foreigner who wants to enter Bulgaria between 29 January and 30 April will have to present a negative PCR test taken up to 72 hours before arrival. This includes everyone arriving from the EU, the Schengen Area, and third countries.

However, Bulgarian citizens, long-term residents, and their family members can replace the test with a 10-day quarantine.

For more information on incumbent COVID-19 travel rules for Bulgaria, please contact the Bulgarian Embassy in Dublin.

Detailed information (in Bulgarian) can be found here.


Information for travelling to Georgia

We advise against any non-essential travel. In connection with the Covid-19 global pandemic, the government of Georgia declared a state of emergency on 21st March 2020. The Georgian borders remain closed to all travellers, save those from:

  • Accredited Diplomats and their family members;
  • Business Travellers, who have filled in a special business application form, please make sure to follow all quarantine guidelines, the expenses of which are born by the traveller. All applicants should also provide relevant active visa, if required, for entering Georgia;
  • Participants in the “remotely from Georgia” program; and
  • Nationals and permanent residence permit holders of 18 European countries.

As of 1 February, restrictions on flights have been lifted. Information on the current flight schedule can be found here.

For up-to-date information on the situation in Georgia including any Covid-19 measures in place please visit StopCov.ge.


Information for travelling to Armenia

We advise against any non-essential travel. Entry into Armenia by anyone other than Armenian citizens is banned, apart from:

  • non-citizen family members of Armenian citizens;
  • people with residency in Armenia; Representatives of diplomatic missions, consular posts, international organizations and members of their families; and
  • Persons from countries (regions) white-listed in accordance with the Commandant’s decision, based on their epidemiological situation.

Permitted arrivals are to be quarantined in designated locations or subject to mandatory self-isolation. They may undergo a PCR test, and if they receive a negative result, may leave self-isolation. As of 2 November 2020, if an individual entering Armenia presents a 72-hour negative COVID-19 test with relevant documents, they will be exempted from self-isolation.

At present, there are extremely limited air connections between Yerevan and Europe. 

For up-to-date information on restrictions in Armenia, please visit the websites of the Government of the Republic of Armenia, as well as the Ministry of Health and Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

« Previous Item | Next Item »